New Hampshire
           Web Sites for Kids

              (and Grownups, too)

Research -  Maps - Info - Places - Schools & Colleges - Communications/Web Cams - Teacher Materials

                   Research:

New Hampshire Almanac - Facts for Kids - https://www.nh.gov/almanac/

New Hampshire from the NH State Senate
How NH got its name and more:
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/Senate/About_Senate/kids.aspx

NH Folklife - http://www.nh.gov/folklife/index.htm
     Learning Center - https://www.nh.gov/folklife/learning-center/index.htm
    
Traditions - https://www.nh.gov/folklife/traditional-music/index.htm

Census Bureau Data for New Hampshire
https://data.census.gov/cedsci/profile?g=0400000US33
https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/NH,US/PST045221
https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/map/NH,US/PST045221

New Hampshire Facts and Trivia
https://www.50states.com/newhampshire.htm

NH Almanac Fast Facts - https://www.nh.gov/almanac/fast-facts.htm
   NH Counties - https://www.nh.gov/almanac/counties.htm
   Wildlife - https://wildlife.state.nh.us/wildlife/index.html

NH  State Flag and Facts
https://www.netstate.com/states/symb/flags/nh_flag.htm
State symbols - https://www.netstate.com/states/symb/nh_symb.htm
Almanac - https://www.netstate.com/states/alma/nh_alma.htm
Geography - https://www.netstate.com/states/geography/nh_geography.htm
Maps - https://www.netstate.com/states/maps/nh_maps.htm
Links -
https://www.netstate.com/states/links/nh_links.htm

NH Historical Markers by town - https://www.nh.gov/nhdhr/markers/documents/markers_bytown.pdf
 http://www.images-of-new-hampshire-history.com/New-Hampshire-Historical-Markers.php

Famous New Hampshire People
https://www.nhliving.com/famouspeople/
https://www.nh.gov/almanac/people.htm
https://nhtourguide.com/wp/places/concord/famous-people-from-new-hampshire-2/
https://www.worldatlas.com/webimage/countrys/namerica/usstates/nhfamous.htm

NH Facts - https://www.ipl.org/div/stateknow/nh1.html
NH Information - https://www.factmonster.com/us/states/new-hampshire

 Weather Data:
State Climatologist - https://mypages.unh.edu/nhsco/home
National Weather Service - WUnderground - NH Weather

Weather Data from WeatherLook - https://www.theweathermakers.org/weatherlook/

NH African-American History- stories and great information
http://www.seacoastnh.com/Black-History/
https://blackheritagetrailnh.org/?msclkid=08ce312cb07911ecba95434531d08497


NH Genalogy and History - http://www.nh.searchroots.com/history.html#NHH

Maps:

New Hampshire Maps:
       Free Highway maps -
https://mapsofusa.net/new-hampshire-road-and-highway-maps/?msclkid=46318d8eb07911ec8134a50639235338
       Scenic drives - https://www.visitnh.gov/things-to-do/scenic-drives

       National Geographic Society maps to print -
          https://www.nationalgeographic.org/education/1-page-maps/


Geological Society of NH - (NH Geology links) - excellent site - http://www.gsnh.org/geo-links.html
GeoMapper http://www.gsnh.org/geo-mapper.html


NH DES Maps - https://www.des.nh.gov/land/geology/geologic-maps

Generalized Bedrock Geologic Map
https://www.plymouth.edu/mwm/wp-content/uploads/sites/170/2014/04/generalized_bedrock.pdf

Simplified Bedrock Geologic Map
https://www.nhgeology.org/sim_br.pdf

Historic USGS Maps of NH -
  https://www.usgs.gov/programs/national-geospatial-program/historical-topographic-maps-preserving-past

NH Maps from the University of Texas at Austin - https://maps.lib.utexas.edu/maps/new_hampshire.html

Satellite Image for New Hampshire
 
http://fermi.jhuapl.edu/states/avhrr/NH_213.n12.96may31_1148.html

NH Maps - physical, elevation, satellite, political, cities, and roads
  
http://geology.com/state-map/new-hampshire.shtml

**New Hampshire Map/Quiz printout for students and teachers 
  
http://www.enchantedlearning.com/usa/statesbw/newhampshire.shtml

General NH Information:

New Hampshire State Government Online - http://www.nh.gov/

New Hampshire Fish and Game - Education programs and Wild Times for Kids!
   http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/education/kids.html

     **
Downloadable pocket guide to animal tracks
       http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/education/documents/track-card.pdf

     **Wildlife sheets profiles - http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/wildlife/profiles.html

     **
WILD Times for Kids magazines- http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/pubs/kids.html

     **
NH Fish species - http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/fishing/species.html

New Hampshire Travel and Tourism - http://www.visitnh.gov/

New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services
              https://www.des.nh.gov/resource-center/education-resources

             Seacoast NH - http://www.seacoastnh.com/

Tide Charts for New Hampshire - https://www.usharbors.com/harbor/new-hampshire
                
https://tidesandcurrents.noaa.gov/map/index.html?region=New%20Hampshire

Ski New Hampshire - http://www.skinh.com/

NH Outdoors - http://www.nhoutdoors.com/

New Hampshire Department of Education - Lists NH schools
https://www.education.nh.gov/pathways-education/local-district-schools

 Schools and Colleges:
    Antioch - New England Graduate School - Keene - https://www.antioch.edu/new-england
    Brewster Academy - Wolfeboro https://www.brewsteracademy.org/
   
Dartmouth College - Hanover - https://home.dartmouth.edu/
    Granite State College - Concord - https://www.granite.edu/
    Holderness School - Plymouth - https://www.holderness.org/
    Keene State College - https://www.keene.edu/
    Kimball Union Academy - Meriden - https://www.kua.org/
    NHTI - Concord - https://www.nhti.edu/
    New Hampton School - https://www.newhampton.org/page/Home
    Phillips Exeter Academy
- https://www.exeter.edu/
    Plymouth State University - https://www.plymouth.edu/
    Proctor Academy - Andover - https://www.proctoracademy.org/page/Homepage
    Rivier College - Nashua - https://www.rivier.edu/
    Southern NH University - Manchester - https://www.snhu.edu/ 
    St. Paul's School - Concord - https://www.sps.edu/
    Tilton School -
https://tiltonschool.org/
    University of New Hampshire - https://www.unh.edu/

NH Places:

Audubon Society of NH - Concord - https://www.nhaudubon.org/

Canterbury Shaker Village - https://www.shakers.org/

Currier Gallery of Art - Manchester -
https://currier.org/

Fort Constitution - https://www.nhstateparks.org/visit/historic-sites/fort-constitution-historic-site
   https://www.portsmouthnh.com/listing/fort-constitution/


Gorham Historical Society and Railroad Museum - https://gorhamnewhampshire.com/railroad_museum.html

Isles of Shoals - https://www.portsmouthnh.com/listing/isles-of-shoals/
   https://nhtourguide.com/wp/nh-search/?geodir_search=1&stype=gd_place&s=isles+of+shoals&snear=&sgeo_lat=&sgeo_lon=

Lost River Gorge and Boulder Caves - https://lostrivergorge.com/

 Manchester Historic Association Millyard Museum - https://www.manchesterhistoric.org/millyard-museum

McAuliffe-Shephard Discovery Center - Concord -
https://www.starhop.com/

Montshire Museum - Norwich, VT - https://www.montshire.org/

Mount Washington - highest mountain in northeastern US - https://www.mountwashington.org/

Mount Washington Cog Railway - https://www.thecog.com/

Mt. Kearsage Indian Museum - Warner -
https://www.indianmuseum.org/

New England Ski Museum - Franconia Notch - http://newenglandskimuseum.org/

New Hampshire Historical Society - Concord - https://www.nhhistory.org/
    NH History Curriculum -
http://www.nhptv.org/kn/nh/home.html
    Online exhibitions - https://www.nhhistory.org/Research/Online-Exhibitions
    Classroom resources - https://www.nhhistory.org/Educate/School-Programs/Classroom-Resources

New Hampshire Motor Speedway - Loudon - https://www.nhms.com/

NH State Parks - https://www.nhstateparks.org/
   Historic Sites - https://www.nhstateparks.org/visit/historic-sites/
   Beaches - https://www.nhstateparks.org/visit/seacoast-beaches.aspx

      Hiking Trails https://www.nhstateparks.org/activities/hiking

Odiorne Point - Rye - https://www.nhstateparks.org/visit/state-parks/odiorne-point-state-park.aspx

Portsmouth Harbor Trail - https://www.portsmouthnh.com/harbour-trail-historic-tour/

Seacoast Science Center - https://www.seacoastsciencecenter.org/

Society for the Protection of NH Forests - Concord - https://forestsociety.org/

           Squam Lakes Science Center - https://www.nhnature.org/

           Strawbery Banke - Portsmouth - https://www.strawberybanke.org/

 Communications:
     AJR Newslink - NH newspapers - http://newslink.org/nhnews.html

     The Concord Monitor - https://www.concordmonitor.com/
     Fosters Daily Democrat - https://www.fosters.com/
     NH Public Radio - https://www.nhpr.org/
     NH Public Television - https://nhpbs.org/
     The Union Leader - https://www.unionleader.com/
     WMUR - https://www.wmur.com/

Web Cams - See NH Places As They Look Right Now

Black Cat Lake Winnipesaukee Weather Cam
                           Concord -
                           Dublin - https://www.webcamtaxi.com/en/usa/new-hampshire/dublin.html

                           Lake Winnipesaukee WebCam - https://newhampshirewebcams.com/lake-winnipesaukee-webcams/
                               http://www.winnipesaukee.com/index.php?pageid=weirscam

                           Mt. Washington Webcam - https://www.mountwashington.org/weathercams/
                           Another Mt. Washington Webcam - https://hazecam.net/camsite.aspx?site=mtwash
                           NH Webcams - http://www.nhtourguide.com/live_web_cam_nh.htm

                           North Conway - https://whitemountains.tv/live-cam-north-conway-village-nh/
                           Portsmouth Market Square - http://www.portsmouthwebcam.com/index.php/market-square-2/

                           Rye Beach
                                                           


I used the program Kidspiration to create these files about New Hampshire
  as part of a Concord School District professional development activity:

Mount Washington
The Flume
The Old Man of the Mountain
Lake Winnipesaukee
Merrimack River
Connecticut River

Lake Winnipesaukee information - http://www.kathimitchell.com/winnipesauk.htm

NH History Virtual Tour - http://lss.sau16.org/content/nhvirtual_field.htm

New Hampshire Scavenger Hunt
 
http://www.kathimitchell.com/nhtrivia.htm

New Hampshire State Song - http://www.kathimitchell.com/nhstatesong.htm

 

Back to Mrs. Mitchell's Virtual School

This page was developed by Kathi Mitchell 
and was last updated March 30, 2022